Is the art good enough

12x16I struggle with this all the time.  I paint a few new paintings and I’m so excited.  I feel I;ve finally made a painting that will touch people.  And then a while later I wonder what I was thinking.

I’m in an art display this weekend.  I put out a couple of pieces, not large by any means, but just a little different from I have put out before.  And now hours before the show, I’m panicking..  Will my art stand up.  Am I going to look like a smuck.

I know the basics. I know the elements that make a painting.  I can pick out what needs to be done to a painting, or what needs to be fixed, but can I excite the viewer with what I have to offer.

As an artist every time we put  our creations on display, we are putting ourselves out to the public.  I think this is the scariest moment you can endure.  Scarier than bungy jumping.

About Loretta Secord

an artist with maybe something to say
This entry was posted in Loretta Secord. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment